Explosions in the Sky – Take Care, Take Care, Take Care

It goes to show you how uninformed I am if I didn’t even realize there was a new Explosions in the Sky album out there to cherish. Severely behind the eight-ball, I just purchased Take Care, Take Care, Take Care a couple days ago. It was released April 26 in the US, so I was quite behind.

Do I like post-rock? Always. It shows me that musically we’re progressing. Somebody is doing something different with the standard garage band pieces and they want our popular music to move in their direction. It’s also not techno which I really, really, really, really hope is not the future of music. It’s cool, but please don’t tell me it’s the future. I’d much rather sit down and listen to post-rock or I’d like to create it someday in my post-post-post-post-rock band without a name as of late. We wanted to start a post-rock band, but I really wanted “wah” to be in it and we determined that post-rock would not allow “wah”, but post-post rock would. For some reason there was something wrong with being post-post-rock and since post-post-post-rock would again disallow “wah”, we decided to go with post-post-post-post-rock or quad-post-rock.

But I digress. Explosion’s new album Take Care, Take Care, Take Care, despite a somewhat annoyingly redundant title at least to type out each time, is pretty awesome. I would probably say every other album by Explosion is “pretty awesome”. I appreciate in this album how Explosions dropped the heavy piano use that they employed in All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone. They instead went back to mostly guitar work with their three guitar line-up. Most Explosions albums sound a bit the same in approach, but the contemplativeness that you get out of listening to their work is always well worth the ride. I love how you can enjoy it in whatever way you like. Joe Tangari from Pitchfork.com says it the best: “The emotion in it is ambiguous, and you can read whatever you want into it– the soundtrack to your rainy day might be the soundtrack to someone else’s overwhelming joy, and that too is important to [their music’s] appeal.”

My quoting of Pitchfork aside, the important thing to get out of all of this is that I like Take Care, Take Care, Take Care by Explosions in the Sky.

Take Care, Take Care, Take Care

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

